
LAW 35 HIT WICKET 
1. Out Hit wicket

(a) 1 The striker is out Hit wicket if, after the bowler has entered his delivery stride 
and while the ball is in play, his wicket is put down either by the striker's bat or by 
his person as described in law 28.1(a)(ii) and (iii) (Wicket put down)
either  (i) in the course of any action taken by him in preparing to receive or 

in receiving a delivery,
or  (ii)  in settiing off for his first run immediately after

playing, or playing at, the ball,
or  (iii) if he makes no attempt to play the ball, in setting off for his first 

run, providing that in the opinion of the umpire this is immediately 
after he has had the opportunity of playing the ball,

or  (iv) in lawfully making a second or further stroke for the purpose of 
guarding his wicket within the provisions of law 34.3 (Ball lawfully 
struck more than once).

(b) If the striker puts his wicket down in any of the ways described in law 28.1 (a)(ii) 
and (iii) (Wicket put down) before the bowler has entered his delivery stride, either 
umpire shall call and signal Dead ball.

2. Not out Hit wicket
Notwithstanding 1 above the batsman is not out under this law should his wicket be put 
down in any of the ways referred to in 1 above if

(a) it occurs after he has completed any action in receiving the delivery, other than in 
1(a) (ii), (iii) or (iv) above.

(b) It occurs when he is in the act of running, other than in setting off immediately for 
his first run.

(c) it occurs when he is trying to avoid being run out or stumped. 
(d) it occurs while he is trying to avoid a throw-in at any time.
(e) the bowler, after entering his delivery stride, does not deliver the ball. In this case 

either umpire shall immediately call and signal Dead ball. See law 23.3 (Umpire 
calling and signalling Dead ball).

(f)  the delivery is a No ball.


