
 
LAW 34 HIT THE BALL TWICE 
1. Out Hit the ball twice

a The striker is out Hit the ball twice if, while the ball  is in play, it strikes any part of 
his person or is struck by his bat and. before the ball has been fouched by a 
Fielder,  he wilfully strikes it again with his bat or  person, other than a hand not 
holding the bat, except For the  sole purpose of guarding  his wicket. See 3 below 
and Laws 33 (Handled the ball) and 37(Obstructing the Field)

(b)  For the purpose of this Low, 'struck' or 'strike' shall include contact with the person 
of the striker.

2.  Not out Hit the ball twice
Notwithstanding 1 (a) above,  the striker will not be out under this
Law if
(i) he makes a second or subsequent stroke in order to return the ball to any member 

of the Fielding side.  Note, however, the provisions of Law 37.4 (Returning the ball 
to a member of the fielding side).

(ii) he wilfully strikes the ball after  it has touched a fielder. Note, however, the 
provisions of Law 37.1 (Out Obstructing the Field).

3. Ball lawfully struck more than once
Solely in order to guard his wicket and before the ball has been touched by a fielder, the 
striker may lawfully strike the ball more than once with his bat or with any part of his 
person other than a hand not holding the bat.
Notwithstanding this provision, the striker may not prevent the ball from being caught by 
making more than one stroke in defence of his wicket. See law 37.3 (Obstructing a ball 
from being caught).

4. Runs permitted from  ball lawfully struck more than once
When the ball is lawfully struck more than once, as permitted in 3 above, only the first 
strike is to be considered in determining whether runs are to be allowed and how they 
are to be scored.
(a) If on the first strike the umpire Is satisfied that

either  (i) the ball first struck the bat
or (ii)  the striker attempted to play the ball with his bat 
or (iii) the striker tried to avoid being hit by the ball
then any penalties to the batting side that are applicable shall be allowed.

(b) If the conditions in (a) above are met then, if they result from overthrows, and only 
if they result from overthrows, runs completed by the batsmen or a boundary will 
be allowed in addition to any penalties that are applicable. They shall be credited to 
the striker if the first strike. was with the bat. If the first strike was on the person of 
the striker they shall be scored as leg byes or No ball extras, as appropriate. See 
Law 26.2 (leg byes).



(c) If the conditions of (a) above are met and there is no overthrow until after the 
batsmen have started to run, but before one run is completed,
(i) only subsequent completed runs or a boundary shall be allowed. The first 

run shall count as a completed run for this purpose only if the batsmen have 
not crossed at the instant of the throw.

(ii) if in these circumstances the ball goes to the boundary from the throw then, 
not with standing the provisions of law of 19.(Overthrow or wilful act of 
fielder), only the boundary allowance shall be scored.

(iii) if the ball goes to the boundary as the result of a further overthrow, then 
runs completed by the batsmen after the first throw and before this final 
throw shall be added to the boundary allowance. The run in progress at the 
first throw will count only if they have not crossed at that moment; the run in 
progress at the final throw shall count only if they have crossed at that 
moment. law 18.12 (Batsman returning to wicket he-has left shall apply as 
from the moment of the final throw.

(d) If, in the opinion of the umpire, none of the conditions in (a) above have been met 
then, whether there is an overthrow or not, the batting side shall not be credited 
with any runs from that delivery apart from the penalty for a No ball if applicable. 
Moreover, no other penalties shall be awarded to the batting side when the ball is 
dead. See law 42.17 (Penalty runs).

5. Ball lawfully struck more than once action by the umpire
runs are to be allowed, either in the circumstances of 4(d) above, or because there has 
been no overthrow and
(a) if no run is attempted but the ball reaches the boundary, the umpire shall call and 

signal Dead ball and disallow the boundary.
(b) if the batsmen run and

(i) neither batsman is dismissed and the ball does not become dead for any 
other reason, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as one run 
is completed or the ball reaches the boundary. The batsmen shall return to 
their original ends. The run or boundary shall be disallowed. 

(ii) a batsman is dismissed, or if for any other reason the ball
becomes dead before one run is completed or the ball  reaches the 
boundary, all the provisions af the laws will apply except that the award of 
penalties to the batting side shall be as laid down in 4(a) or 4(d) above as 
appropriate.

6. Bowler does not get credit
The bowler does not get credit for the wicket.

 

 
 



 


